An e-reader’s dilemma

When I first started this blog, one of the things it occurred to me I might write about at some point was the e-books vs. paper books debate.  Such as it is these days.  But I realized that, honestly, I don’t care.  I like paper books.  I like e-books.  I like books.  Format is not a criterion.  What annoys me, however, is that I cannot seem to get all of my e-books in the same place.  Years ago, when I got an e-reader for Christmas, my mother-in-law decided it would be a good idea to give my spouse a Kindle and me a Nook because that way if there were ever a book one of us wanted that wasn’t available in one place, we might be able to get it from the other.  This was a nice theory, I suppose, but now that we’ve both left actual e-readers behind and use apps on tablets, we still have two separate libraries that we can’t integrate.  Then, of course, I get e-books in other ways – primarily through Humble Bundle – and those open in yet another program or app.  I just want to access all my (e-)books in the same place, but I feel as if I’d need a fairy godmother to make it happen.  E-books are certainly convenient in some ways, but not in others.

It seems as if there ought to be a solution to this dilemma out there somewhere.  I can’t be the only one annoyed with this situation.  On the other hand, capitalism doesn’t exactly run the world sensibly, so maybe there isn’t.  If a solution exists in some magical kingdom somewhere, however, would a good fairy please give me directions?

Leave a Reply

