This is how it goes

Recently I reconnected with a good friend from middle and high school with whom I’d since lost touch.  That can sometimes be awkward, so I was a bit hesitant, but in this case it was easy.  That’s always a happy surprise.  Anyway, we chatted for a while, as you do, and I mentioned off-hand that I’d read a book that I really wanted someone else to read just so I’d have someone to talk to about it.  Naturally, she asked me what book this was, and naturally, I described it to her.  She said it sounded right up her alley.  And then, this exchange happened:

Her: I should have known that 20 minutes into the conversation you’d have a book recommendation for me.
Me: (laughing) You probably should have.  I probably should have!

Yeah.  This is how being friends with me goes.  I would say since middle school, but I was like that in elementary school, too.  Every summer from second grade to fifth I’d go strawberry-picking with my best friend’s family, and my friend and I would pass the time by talking about books.  I’ve been a ravenous bookworm for a long, long time.  Anyone who’s ever been friends with me has heard some variation on “That reminds me of a book…” or “You should read…” more times than they can count.

And that’s why I have this blog.

Leave a Reply

